NerdKits - electronics education for a digital generation

You are not logged in. [log in]

NEW: Learning electronics? Ask your questions on the new Electronics Questions & Answers site hosted by CircuitLab.

Customer Testimonials » Suggestion and Compliments

November 16, 2010
by KyleH

I am a Mech E student and very excited to start learning about micro controllers and really just electronics in general. I am very happy with the kit I purchased though I have a few suggestions.

One: Organize your tutorials based on the level of hand-holding that goes into them. There are a few hold your hand and show you the way tutorials in the NK guide, which are very much appreciated, however I think that the tutorials section could be greatly improved if before even clicking a tutorial I knew about how hard it would be, whether extra parts would be required, and a bill of materials in each tutorial letting me know what materials I should purchase so that I can sit down and do the tutorial in one sitting. I found that the digital caliper tutorial's electronics was a bit confusing and didn't include a simple thing like a high resolution shot of the circuitry (better than the picture of it on the machine) or a wiring diagram.

Two: Your most effective method of marketing these right now is probably your youtube tutorials and written tutorials as well as running ads on related websites. Make more tutorials. Use customer's posted projects in the project section or at least link to the build threads. I found this site because I wanted to get data from my digital caliper. It was not the first result in google however it was the most helpful. Posting more content that gets linked around the web, or making NK projects that piggy back or interface with other successful web projects