NerdKits - electronics education for a digital generation

You are not logged in. [log in]

NEW: Learning electronics? Ask your questions on the new Electronics Questions & Answers site hosted by CircuitLab.

Support Forum » Can't write the program

January 01, 2011
by SusyMz

Hi, I'm new at this and I'm having some trouble with the temp sensor programming.I'm using a MacBook Pro laptop. I get this everytime I write make in the Terminal:

avrdude -c avr109 -p m168 -b 115200 -P /dev/cu.PL2303-000013FD -U flash:w:initialload.hex:a

Connecting to programmer: .
Found programmer: Id = "FDL v02"; type = S
    Software Version = 0.2; No Hardware Version given.
Programmer supports auto addr increment.
Programmer supports buffered memory access with buffersize=128 bytes.

Programmer supports the following devices:
    Device code: 0x35

avrdude: AVR device initialized and ready to accept instructions

Reading | ################################################## | 100% 0.00s

avrdude: Device signature = 0x1e9406
avrdude: NOTE: FLASH memory has been specified, an erase cycle will be performed
         To disable this feature, specify the -D option.
avrdude: erasing chip
avrdude: reading input file "initialload.hex"
avrdude: input file initialload.hex auto detected as Intel Hex
avrdude: writing flash (7838 bytes):

Writing |                                                    | 0% 0.00savrdude: butterfly_recv(): programmer is not responding
make: *** [initialload-upload] Error 1

I checked all wiring and all seemes to be fine, does anyone know how to fix this?? Thank you in advance Susy

January 01, 2011
by hevans
(NerdKits Staff)

Hi Susy,

This is one of the more cryptic errors we get, and it is probably the most frustrating to debug. Please include a good close up picture of your setup, just so we can rule out any wiring issues.