NerdKits - electronics education for a digital generation

You are not logged in. [log in]

NEW: Learning electronics? Ask your questions on the new Electronics Questions & Answers site hosted by CircuitLab.

Microcontroller Programming » questions about setting bits

May 25, 2011
by s0nee

Hi, I am new to electronics and I have a question about the code that set the bits in the tempsensor project in the guide.

ADCSRA |= (1<<ADSC);

What does " |= " mean ? I have never seen this before. What does " << " do ? I googled and found out that it was "bit shift" ? How can you set the ADSC bit to 1 with that ?

In the extra practice part AND and OR, there is a question like this :

11011010 | (1<<2) = 11011110

Again, what is (1<<2) ? I understand AND and OR, but "<<" ? There is no explanation in the guide.

Thanks! You guys rock!

May 26, 2011
by Ralphxyz

Hi s0nee, I asked this same question about a year ago.

So consider this a test of my learning.

1. "What does " |= " mean ?

Would you know what ADCSRA += 1 means?

These are "Compound assignment operators".

Here is the Wikipedia link for Augmented assignment (or compound assignment).

So with ADCSRA += 1 you would have:

ADCSRA = ADCSRA + 1

and therefore ADCSRA |= 1 would be :

ADCSRA = ADCSRA | 1

Instead of ADDing itself plus one you are ORing itself with one.

Now << left shifting

11011010 | (1<<2) = 11011110

You do understand the OR operation correct .

lets start with 1<<2

We want to left sift the first bit 2 places to the left

So we have :

left shifted two places:

And then we OR it with 11011010

---------

God I can not believe I just did that, well I know I will corrected if I am wrong.

I hope this helps.

Ralph

May 26, 2011
by s0nee

Hi Ralph,

Thank you for the answer. I understand it now. That helps me a lot :)

Have a nice day!

May 26, 2011
by s0nee

By the way, I have another question. Here is a part of the tempsensor code :

// read from ADC, waiting for conversion to finish