NerdKits - electronics education for a digital generation

You are not logged in. [log in]

NEW: Learning electronics? Ask your questions on the new Electronics Questions & Answers site hosted by CircuitLab.

Basic Electronics » Very Basic Batteries in a Series Question

November 17, 2011
by vladarino

I am new to electronics and working through understanding various concepts. I read that when you connect two of the same type of batteries in series the voltage between two points in a circuit is double that of either battery.

What I don't understand is when you actually touch the positive end of one battery to the negative end of the other (required to put them in series), why don't those two terminals immediately "equalize" their electron differences? Doesn't one have a higher number of free electrons than the other? Why don't electrons from one terminal immediately flow to the other battery's terminal even if the batteries are not connected in a circuit.

Thanks for the clarification.

November 17, 2011
by Ralphxyz

I do not undersand your question (at all).

You can google "batteries in series" to see some good explanations.

Here is a nice illustration from tumblr.com:

Ralph

November 18, 2011
by vladarino

Thanks for the link ralphxyz. Yes, I've done google searches. The site you ointed me too is a good one too.

What I meant to say is if you make the positive end of one battery touch the negative end of another, you have have a situation where an anode is touching a cathode (like a wire connecting the two). Then why doesn't some current develop between those two terminals?

If that still doesn't make sense we can just leave it at that.

November 18, 2011
by Ralphxyz

Not know what the h^ll I am talking about I'd say because there is no ground.

Or that there is no circular circuit You have - to + but you need something to return to - again.