NerdKits - electronics education for a digital generation

You are not logged in. [log in]

NEW: Learning electronics? Ask your questions on the new Electronics Questions & Answers site hosted by CircuitLab.

Basic Electronics » Source of randomness for the hardware RNG

December 27, 2011
by bodangly

On the projects section, a hardware random number generator project is mentioned, but there is no link. I assume this means its still being worked on.I am just wondering how to pick up on noise in the voltage to use it as a source of randomness. I'm a programmer so I am not worried about how to write the code but just am not sure on how to pick up on the noise to use it in my algorithm. Thanks!

December 27, 2011
by pcbolt

@bodangly

The first thing that came to my mind was using the "tempsensor" project. The ADC readings can be summed up and hashed any number of different ways. Good luck!

December 28, 2011
by bodangly

@pcbolt

I thought of that as well, but I'm not sure sampling the air temperature is acceptable in a secure application when any device in theory can sample that same air using an LM34. The thing is, it looked to me when doing that project that the lower bits appeared more random than the higher bits. I'd consistently get a reading of say 70 degrees, but the fractional part would vary more randomly. Will the noise in the ADC reading be secure enough? Maybe I can strip out the higher order bits and gather a pool of entropy from the lower bits? I'm trying to come up with a device that can function as source of entropy for a cryptographically secure RNG, feeding results via USB to a PC; possibly as a source of a additional entropy to /dev/random .

December 28, 2011
by pcbolt