NerdKits - electronics education for a digital generation

You are not logged in. [log in]

NEW: Learning electronics? Ask your questions on the new Electronics Questions & Answers site hosted by CircuitLab.

Basic Electronics » Basic LED circuit properties

January 02, 2012
by GenHornet18

Hello, I'm just starting to learn the basic concepts in electronics and I was wondering if I was understanding these concepts correctly.

Below is a simple LED circuit (in series) with my calculations at given points added in. I'm wondering if someone here could verify my calculations and perhaps explain to me how to calculate the last two values (denoted by "--")?

Source Voltage: 9V

LED (Drop?) Voltage: 2V

LED Max Current: 20mA

Resistor: 1000 ohm

LED in series

Thanks for any assistance you can provide,

Brad

January 02, 2012
by pcbolt

Hi Brad,

I think if you were to measure the resistance from the top box to ground without power to the circuit it would be much higher than 1286 ohms (top box). The diode is a semi-conductor device and should have very high resistance when measured alone. To figure the circuit out, the diode drops (say) 2V and is not dependent on current (unless it is over driven). So you go from 9V to 7V. With the 1K resistor next, it has to drop that 7v to ground so V=IR or 7 = I*1000 or I = 0.007A. That is the amps for the entire circuit since it is a series circuit. So the bottom box I=0.007 and R=0 since it is shows no resistance to ground.

January 02, 2012
by GenHornet18

Thanks for input pcbolt,

My calculations were based solely off Ohm's law and the properties of circuits (current same in series, voltage in parallel), which is where the numbers came from. The first resistance was calculated based on R = V / I (from V=I*R), does this law not hold true here or is it my misinterpretation?