NerdKits - electronics education for a digital generation

You are not logged in. [log in]

NEW: Learning electronics? Ask your questions on the new Electronics Questions & Answers site hosted by CircuitLab.

Microcontroller Programming » referencing a variable

January 11, 2012
by tchilzer2
    Hello,

I am very new to the c programming language. I have altered the flashing an led program (from the nerdkits guide) to flash two led's alternately (will be used in top police flashers.) I want to control them with my computer keyboard. My problem is that I need to reference a variable during a while loop that is not contained in the while loop. Here is my code:

/ led_blink.c
    // for NerdKits with ATmega168
    // hevans@nerdkits.edu

#define F_CPU 14745600

#include <avr/io.h>
    #include <inttypes.h>

#include "../libnerdkits/delay.h"
    #include "../libnerdkits/lcd.h"

#include <stdio.h>

#include <avr/interrupt.h>
    #include <avr/pgmspace.h>

#include "../libnerdkits/uart.h"

// PIN DEFINITIONS:
    //
    // PC4 -- LED anode

int main() {

// LED as output
      DDRC |= (1<<PC4);
      DDRC |= (1<<PC3);
      // loop keeps looking forever
      while(1) {

// init serial port
      uart_init();
      FILE uart_stream = FDEV_SETUP_STREAM(uart_putchar, uart_getchar, _FDEV_SETUP_RW);
      stdin = stdout = &uart_stream;

// listen for command
       char tmp_c;

unit8_t flash
        flash = scanf_P(PSTR("%c"), &tmp_c);

while (flash = 'f') {

printf_P(PSTR("Got command '%c'\r\n"), tmp_c);

// turn on LED 1/ turn off led 2
        PORTC |= (1<<PC4);
        PORTC &= ~(1<<PC3);
        //delay for 500 milliseconds to let the light stay on
        delay_ms(500);

// turn off LED 1/ turn off led 2
        PORTC &= ~(1<<PC4);
        PORTC |= (1<<PC3);
        //delay for 500 milliseconds to let the light stay off
        delay_ms(500);

}
      while (flash = 'o'){
      PORTC &= ~(1<<PC4);
      PORTC &= ~(1<<PC3);
      }
      }
      return 0;
    }