NerdKits - electronics education for a digital generation

You are not logged in. [log in]

NEW: Learning electronics? Ask your questions on the new Electronics Questions & Answers site hosted by CircuitLab.

Everything Else » Can you swap chips?

February 11, 2012
by Steeldeal

Have you guys seen the JeeNodes? They seem really interesting to me. I've wanted to start dabbling in some wireless stuff and XBee is just so expensive.

The JeeNodes run about $20-$25 and they are a small board with ATMega328p Chip and a RF transceiver all in one package. The only problem I see is that the chips are pre programmed with Arduino bootloaders. Not a problem if you already know Arduino but I don't. I don't really want to learn Arduino, I like the way NerdKits work and like having the control and supporting what they are doing here.

My Question is, do you think these JeeNodes can have the Arduino swapped out for a Nerdkit chip pretty easily? Or are there other things to worry about? I'm just a newb.

I was thinking if I swapped them out obviously that raises the price but I just want to use it to see how useful it might be. I know that you can buy the RF chips pretty easily on their own which means I could build my own boards if it does end up being useable, once I've done some testing and playing with it and had other projects I might use. The also even sell the PCB for around $7 so if their design works with a few changes (such as a NerdKit chip) then I was thinking I could even utilize those potentially.

Any thoughts or helpful suggestion would be much appreciated. If it helps at all I'm planning on dabbling in a couple little home automation type projects for fun.

JeeNode: link

RFM12B Radio: link

SparkFun (only the 434Mhz not the 915Mhz) also sells the radio and has a breakout board but the breakout board costs over 3 times what the radio costs.

February 11, 2012
by Rick_S