NerdKits - electronics education for a digital generation

You are not logged in. [log in]

NEW: Learning electronics? Ask your questions on the new Electronics Questions & Answers site hosted by CircuitLab.

Microcontroller Programming » Total noob in need of LCD help Atmega328p

April 10, 2012
by ram_engineerin_2012

I am trying to do a simple up/down counter with LCD output on my atmega328p for my senior project and have no idea how to really initialize and use it, nor connect it. I've gone over sample programs and looked at the code that was given to me when I purchased our MC kit from Nerdkits.com. If someone could tell me what I'm doing wrong and how to fix it, I would be greatly appreciative. Please, be brutally honest with me if you need to. This is my first attempt at doing any AVR work and the only other microcontrollers/microprocessors I've had experience with are Motorla and Intel-based while strictly using assembly, not C. If it helps, this program was done in the newest version of AVRstudio and I will also include a semi-current image of my schematic, which was done in Proteus. Thanks for any and all help you can give me.

Sorry about my formatting. I just C&P my code here

include <avr/io.h> include "C:Usersghost_117DesktopClass notesEE4220ResearchCode sampleslibnerdkitslcd.c" include "C:Usersghost_117DesktopClass notesEE4220ResearchCode sampleslibnerdkitslcd.h" include "C:Usersghost_117DesktopClass notesEE4220ResearchCode sampleslibnerdkitsdelay.c" include "C:Usersghost_117DesktopClass notesEE4220ResearchCode sampleslibnerdkitsdelay.h" include "C:Usersghost_117DesktopClass notesEE4220ResearchCode sampleslibnerdkitsuart.c" include "C:Usersghost_117DesktopClass notesEE4220ResearchCode sampleslibnerdkitsuart.h"

int main(void) { lcd_init(); FILE lcd_stream = FDEV_SETUP_STREAM(lcd_putchar, 0, _FDEV_SETUP_WRITE);

unsigned char i;
int x;
DDRD = 0x00;
DDRC = 0xFF;

PORTC = 0x00;

while(1)
{
  x = 0;

i = PIND;

PORTC = i;

if (PIND0){
            ++x;