NerdKits - electronics education for a digital generation

You are not logged in. [log in]

NEW: Learning electronics? Ask your questions on the new Electronics Questions & Answers site hosted by CircuitLab.

Basic Electronics » USBasp Help!

October 21, 2015
by TheUnfocusedOne

Hey guys,

Long time since I've been on here. I'm trying to get into programming MCUs again. I recently purchased a USBasp (from NewbieHack.com), and I'm trying to get an ATTiny85 working. I know from reading around that I can't connect to the t85 due to its slow clock speed. I've ready in a bunch of places that I need to set a jumper somewhere on my board to slow the clock speed of my USPasp down to be able to communicate, but I'm not sure what jumper I should connect (they aren't labeled). Any one use this USBasp before and could give me some insight? I'm really new to all this stuff, but I'm trying to get up any running fast.

Here's a full link :https://www.newbiehack.com/categories/newbiehack-development_tools-prototyping-microcontroller-USB-AVR-Programmer-usbasp

Thanks! -Brian

October 22, 2015
by Rick_S

As long as you have has a somewhat recent version of AVRDUDE, Within the last several years, all you need to do to slow down the ISP clock for your programming. This is done with the -B parameter (bitclock period). When programming new ATMega328's, I use the -B 6 option (6us). Some people talk about using -B 3 (3us) The default is 1 (1us). Either way, try adding that to your parameters and don't worry about the jumpers. More than likely that'll get you going.

Here is a link to the parameter descriptions for AVRDUDE

and the excerpt from them regarding the -B parameter.

-B bitclock