NerdKits - electronics education for a digital generation

You are not logged in. [log in]

NEW: Learning electronics? Ask your questions on the new Electronics Questions & Answers site hosted by CircuitLab.

Microcontroller Programming » ADMUX=0

February 18, 2016
by Javy

I'm totally new to micro-controller programming, so forgive the unforgivable questions.

How does ADMUX=0 (in the temp sensor project) do anything? I thought ADMUX was a 8

bit register, controlled with REFS1 through MUX0. The datasheet is supposed to have

all necessary info, I just don't see where ADMUX=0 sets anything (though, I'm sure it

does). Is ADMUX a variable in one of the "include" files?

Any cool help will be deeply appreciated.

February 18, 2016
by Javy

If my question makes zero sense, let me know too.

Thanks.

February 19, 2016
by BobaMosfet

Javy-

Your question is perfectly fine.

'ADMUX' is defined in the compiler header files that get included (usually another header file included by io.h). This identifies which -channel- of the MUX you want to use. The 'channel' corresponds to the pin you want to use. The ATMEGA168 has multi-purpose pins. This means you can use them for one thing or another, depending on the capabilities that Atmel has designed for each respective pin.

In the datasheet, if you look at 'Pin Configurations', you will see that pins 23-28 may be used for ADC purposes. In other words, the ATMEGA168 has 5 ADC pins (or 5 channels), labeled as 'ADC0' through 'ADC5'. 'AD' = analog to digital. 'C' = Port C, and '5' = channel. So, in the datasheet, for more information about using the ADC, look under 'Alternate Functions of Port C'.

So, if you say 'ADMUX = 0', you're choosing channel 0 (aka pin ADC0) and telling the ADC to watch that pin for an analog voltage level. Once it registers that voltage level, it converts that to an 8-it digital value, which is what you get when you combine and read the high and low ADC registers.

BM

February 19, 2016
by BobaMosfet