NerdKits - electronics education for a digital generation

You are not logged in. [log in]

NEW: Learning electronics? Ask your questions on the new Electronics Questions & Answers site hosted by CircuitLab.

Sensors, Actuators, and Robotics » digital humidity sensor

November 19, 2009
by danabradbury

I have been using the nerdkit for a couple of months now and have the temp sensor working. Now I want to be able to read humidity as well. I think there are some analog humidity sensors I could use - much like the temp sensor. However, I think I want to go with something a little more robust and accurate. Ultimately I want to be able to collect indoor and out door weather conditions and use the data to control my house exhaust fans - basically to economize my heating and air.

So the sensor I am considering is the sensirion SHT15 - I think it will do what I need (though I could be convinced otherwise). This sensor has a digital two wire out output. My problem is how to communicate with the ATmega168? I see this board from sparkfun.com uses the same sensor with the atmega8 MCU, so I assume this can be done. http://www.sparkfun.com/commerce/product_info.php?products_id=8311

There is a lot of info on-line about how to communicate with digital sensors, but that is actually part of my problem, there is to much info. I am having trouble focusing in on what I need.

I think I can use the digital input/output pins (PD0, PD1, and PB5 for clock) on the ATmega168 but then I assume I would I have to switch the pins when I need to communicate with my PC? Or is there better way using the Serial Peripheral Interface? I am not sure the sensor is I2C compliant, or if this matters, or exactly what this means, but there is a lot of talk on-line about I2C around the SPI. Ultimately I would like to have multiple temp/humidity sensors all talking to one MCU. I assume this requirement will influence how I setup communication from the sensors to the MCU.