NerdKits - electronics education for a digital generation

You are not logged in. [log in]

NEW: Learning electronics? Ask your questions on the new Electronics Questions & Answers site hosted by CircuitLab.

Microcontroller Programming » Issue with PC6/PD0 - cannot set for output

February 23, 2010
by yanzickp

Hello,

I'm relatively new at this, so any suggestions would be helpful!

I have wired up a 4 digit 7-segment display to the Atmega 168 that came with the kit, and I am trying to turn on all of the segments of the digits on. I am using 4 digital I/O pins to select the digit, and then I turn on the pin for the segment I want to shut off (a bit backwards it seems, but that is the way it seems to work - it is a common anode display).

When I fire up my test program, all of the segments turn on, EXCEPT G (the LED that turns a 0 to an 8). If I take the wire connected to the pin that G is attached to (tried PC6 and PD0 so far) and connect it to any of the other PC pins, it illuminates, so it appears the pin isn't setting. Is it because all of the other pins I'm using for the segments can be used for ADC pins and I have something misconfigured? I am able to change the digits on the display without issue as well...

One other thing to note... when I program the processor with the programmer that comes with the kit, the segment will illuminate due to the data being sent to the processor (when on PD0) so the path to that segment appears to be good.

Below is the code that I have for the main function. Right now I get a '0' on the very first digit in the display. I used the led_blink as the framework for the code, so it may look a bit familiar... I know there are more elegant ways to code this, but I am trying to get as atomic as I can right now, trying to figure out the problem...

#define F_CPU 14745600

#include <avr/io.h>
#include <inttypes.h>

#include "../libnerdkits/delay.h"
#include "../libnerdkits/lcd.h"

// PIN DEFINITIONS:
//
// PC0 - Segment A