NerdKits - electronics education for a digital generation

You are not logged in. [log in]

NEW: Learning electronics? Ask your questions on the new Electronics Questions & Answers site hosted by CircuitLab.

Support Forum » Broken voltage regulator (7805)

June 01, 2010
by kyrre

Hello.

i received the NerdKit a few weeks ago, but haven't had the time to start the temperature sensor project until recently. I wired the entire thing up, and... nothing. I went through all the wires, found some errors, and tried again, yet no luck.

After that I checked the battery with a cheap, analog multimeter I bought (I know, should have decked out for the expensive, digital, one), and it is completely fine.

I have a suspicion that it's the voltage regulator that is not working, however, I don't know how to test it using my multimeter (I'm a programmer, and knows next to nothing about electronics, that's is what I'd like to get out of this). Anyone that know how to this using a basic multimeter (no continuation testing)?

All help is appreciated.

Kyrre

June 01, 2010
by hevans
(NerdKits Staff)

Hi kyrre,

What is exactly is it that makes you suspect a broken voltage regulator. It is certainly not the most likely chip to have fried if you connected something wrong (and it would have gotten really really hot in the process). The easiest way to test your multimeter is to see if it regulates power down to 5V correctly. Hook it up to three empty rows, connect a 9V battery to the Input and GND pins, and measure the voltage between the output and GND. Make sure you try this with a new 9V battery (you can check to make sure it is 9V with the multimeter) connecting a battery that is dying to the voltage regulator could cause strange results.

Let us know if you find the issue.

Humberto

June 01, 2010
by kyrre