NerdKits - electronics education for a digital generation

You are not logged in. [log in]

NEW: Learning electronics? Ask your questions on the new Electronics Questions & Answers site hosted by CircuitLab.

Microcontroller Programming » Serial setup for wireless transmission

August 03, 2010
by lsoltmann

I recently got the CY2196R transceivers that many people on this forum have gotten for wireless transmission. I'm planning on using them to build a wireless telemetry system for aircraft. I'm new to C programming and microcontrollers so this is probably a daunting task for a newbie but I thought I would give it a shot. I have read through the USART stuff in the ATMega168 data sheet but am still having trouble setting it up. I was wondering if anyone could push me in the right direction. In the code below, the UCSRnA ,UDREn, and UDRn registers are undeclared when I try to compile. Do I need to declare these? or am I going about all of this the wrong way?

The transceivers require the baud rate to be 19200.

#define F_CPU 14745600
#define BAUD 19200
#define MYUBRR F_CPU/16/BAUD-1

#include <stdio.h>
#include <math.h>

#include <avr/io.h>
#include <avr/interrupt.h>
#include <avr/pgmspace.h>
#include <inttypes.h>

#include "../libnerdkits/delay.h"
#include "../libnerdkits/lcd.h"

char data;

void USART_Init(ubrr){

UBRR0H=(ubrr>>8);
    UBRR0L=ubrr;
    UCSR0B=(1<<RXEN0)|(1<<TXEN0);
    UCSR0C=(1<<USBS0)|(3<<UCSZ00);
}

void USART_Transmit(data){
    while(!(UCSRnA & (1<<UDREn)))
        UDRn=data;
}

int main(){

USART_Init(MYUBRR);

while(1){
    data="test";
    USART_Transmit(data);
    }

return 0;
}
August 03, 2010
by mongo

I have a pair of those as well... Never got them to talk. I found a blog page that has some interesting info. Here it is:

link

I am going to give it one more try myself before writing the whole thing off.

August 04, 2010
by lsoltmann